The Theology of Youth Rooms

22 05 2010

When I started at my new job back in January I was given permission and some funding to do some renovations to the main gathering place or “Youth Lounge” at the church. I don’t have any really deep thoughts that belong in this post but maybe this is instead a call for those who have studied at “YE OLDE THEOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY” to tell us the Biblical historical significance of baby blue youth rooms. Every church I’ve ever worked at has had their youth room baby blue (some with clouds, some with rainbows and faux Roman columns) and similarly I have had the fortune of being able to rework them and hopefully make it feel more like a space the youth want to hang out in and less like they are still in the nursery downstairs. I just thought I’d post a few before and after pics of the room. All thanks for design ideas and concept go to my wonderful wife!


Actions

Information

3 responses

23 05 2010
Lane

Baby blue youth rooms are actually a more recent phenomenon in church history. They are actually a result of The Great Cyssan Controversy of 1917. In that year-of-our-Lord, there was a sporadic outbreak of making-out amongst the teenagers (these would be your great grandparents). Scientists are still divided on what caused the outbreak, though many blame the rising popularity of the French rockstar painter Albert-Joseph Pénot; Mick Jagger of the art world before there was a Jagger. Luckily, at that point in history, everyone was closer to the Victorian Age than the Cultural Revolution of the ’60’s, so there was no great increase in population nine months after the outbreak. Plus, chastity belts were mandatory in eighteen states (many of the high-birth rate states like Florida and Wisconsin), so that helped. The biggest problem was that such sporadic make-out sessions inadvertently led to The Great Influenza Outbreak of 1918. Whoops.

Now, to the youth rooms. Churches responded to the Cyssan Controversy by taking a creative approach. In order to curb the youngster’s budding lust, many churches decided to recreate a “nursery” environment throughout the classrooms in which most of the youngsters congregated and, assumedly, played tongue twister. This would then cause all the pre-pubescent Priapus’ to consider the consequences of their actions. The baby blue trend stuck, and church-going teenagers haven’t “done it” since that time.

Now, of course, with your redesign you’ve ruined everything. I wouldn’t be surprised if there were spontaneous make-out sessions every time your praise band starts to sing “In the Secret, In the Quiet Place.” Good job.

29 05 2010
Jen

Hey…You know you LOVED those columns and clouds!!! The renovation looks nice!

Jen

7 08 2013
Sacramento bankruptcy attorneys

Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

