Balloons!

16 01 2010

Mommy is away overnight so it is Daddy and the girls time to party! We went to Publix this morning to pick up some essentials and came home with the balloons that you will see in the video. They LOVE the balloons.

I had a message from a friend yesterday that said “Hey man wanna go to Haiti?”…now before you go labeling me insensitive because you think that this is the start to some classless “bad time for a vacation joke” let me stop you right there and say that is exactly NOT what this is. My friend works with a mission agency every summer for his youth group’s mission trips and this same agency is currently putting together a relief trip to Haiti to help with post-quake work. Now I did have to tell my friend that “no I can’t go” but let me take just a few minutes to tell you why this was such a hard thing for me to say. I don’t talk a lot about my faith on this blog (I’m much more of a let’s grab a drink and a back porch and do that in person kind of guy) and as a “paid professional church worker” that might come as a little bit of a surprise to some. I’ve never been a “wear my faith on my sleeve” kind of guy; it’s just not who I am. I will say this and I think my closest friends probably know this about me, but if I were to describe what drives my spiritual soul it would be mission work. I have always been closest to God when serving in missions (local, domestic, foreign, etc…) and its is an integral part of who I am as a youth director, church member, you name it. I have done on and off site disaster relief work for multiple tornadoes, hurricanes, fires, floods and feel that is where I can be of most service to God. I have worked in Red Cross Disaster Shelters. I could go on but I am not going to because this isn’t a brag post about how great I am at helping people out (because in reality I’m not better than anyone else). The point of this is to say that when I told my friend that I couldn’t go to Haiti it pained me a little because it goes against every fiber of my mission work loving soul to say that but there are other considerations in my life these days. 1) I am not at a financial place in my life where I could just buy a plane ticket to fly down to Haiti for an undisclosed period of time, and 2) I have a family now. Now I made jokes yesterday about how much my wife would chain me to the floor in order to keep me off an airplane at all costs (she tends to have travel/airplane paranoias) if I told her I wanted to fly anywhere much less into the center of a natural disaster area. I am working through my youth group now to collect money to send through UMCOR to help out down in Haiti and I will still be taking my group on a mission trip (maybe more than one) this summer so I don’t whine to seek pity only to talk for a minute about how much I appreciate those that are on the ground in Haiti and doing as much as they can. I encourage you if you haven’t already to send support in whatever way you can. I recommend UMCOR (United Methodist Committee on Relief) where all donations go directly to relief efforts.

Sorry this post didn’t end up anywhere near where I thought it was going. Oh well! Now how about some babies and balloons? 🙂

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Balloons!“, posted with vodpod
Actions

Information

2 responses

17 01 2010
mary

that looks like the best FreeDollars you have ever sent. super cute!!

21 01 2010
Bean

Going in through svcltch site so this looks like it is coming from Emily. HMM! What can I say that would get her in trouble! Guess who

Love the girls-they are so cute

Leave a Reply

