A Change & A Review

15 01 2010

So I may have missed more than 1 day this past time but I’m still not giving up. I’m going to be a better blogger and by golly I’m going to do it THIS YEAR! So yeah, I changed the look of the blog because as I am prone I needed a change. Change is good right?

So with my new job came a new telephone and with said phone came a certain new technological experiment that I embarked upon. I decided to try out the Kindle App on the iPhone. My test book was Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road” and let me just say I give TWO BIG THUMBS UP to BOTH the Kindle App and the book!! First things first:

-The Kindle App for iPhone: I wasn’t sure if I was going to like the whole “digital book” thing and even more so I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it on something the size of my telephone. I’ve browsed the regular Kindle’s on a couple of occasions and to be honest was not all that interested. I mean when I look at that big flat white piece of plastic it just doesn’t feel like reading. There’s nothing like turning pages of a book (especially rough-cut pages) and folding back the corner of a page and holding the heft of the book in your hand. So for me traditional Kindle was not to be. But then came the Kindle App for iPhone and I AM HOOKED!! The convenience, OH, the convenience…I read “The Road” in just over a week because of the ability to have it anytime I need it. Let’s all be honest here, something that is ingrained in my Y chromosome is that as a man I read in the bathroom…face it its what we do. Well now with the Kindle App you aren’t confined to doing that just at home. You can read in the waiting room at the pediatrician’s office, in the babies room late at night when you are trying to soothe a baby back to sleep, on a solo lunch date to a certain river region Chick-Fil-A, the possibilities are endless. The books are less expensive than buying them in the store and they are delivered to you without ever having to leave the house. I’m sold!

-“The Road” by Cormac McCarthy-They journey of a father and son across a post-apocalyptic world is hauntingly stark and at the same time filled with such raw emotion that it was often difficult for me to put down my phone and stop reading. Without giving anything away I have to say that the book takes you on a very real journey that is written so well that it is very easy to become lost in the world that McCarthy has created. It is such a well crafted novel that I found myself wanting to be in their place and at the same time terrified of the prospect of the reality of if something like that were to really happen. I give Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road” 5 out of 5 stars. Here’s hoping the movie isn’t a letdown…if (and apparently that’s a really BIG if) it ever gets released in this part of the country.

Actions

Information

One response

15 01 2010
JMG

Alright …I am going to get the kindle app for my iPhone and at that price for books who can beat it ….
and I told you that was an AMAZING book …just great

Leave a Reply

