Some Blog Thoughts

30 06 2009

far_side002

-It’s a busy week. I’ve got another big week long youth event starting on Monday which I really think will be very good but its getting there and then getting through the busyness of the week that is the drain right now.

-I am going to the dentist tomorrow for the first time in…well let’s just say its an embarrassing amount of time and odds are I’ve beaten all of you in time between visits. The thing I have going for me is that to this point in my life I’ve never had a cavity (now I am WELL aware that come tomorrow that streak could end), and I’m hoping that maybe genetically I am just one of those people with good teeth that will continue to keep that streak alive. I honestly am SCARED of going to the dentist. I think the only real reason why is because it has been so long. If everything goes well tomorrow and I get back on an every 6 months routine it will be fine.

-Did you know that one of my two recurring dreams is one where my teeth fall out? I know that this is supposed to represent anxiety or possibly being embarrassed or made a fool of, but I don’t really feel like either of those things are me (well except for my anxiety over tomorrow’s appointment-but I haven’t had the dream since that appointment was made). My fear, and I think thanks in part to the dream, is that tomorrow they will start doing the slightest little thing and my teeth will just start falling out. YIKES!

-My other recurring dream (I think I’ve mentioned this one before) involves being back in highschool and 1) not knowing the combination to my locker and thus not being able to get in and get the things I need for class, and 2) skipping an entire semesters worth of math class and then realizing that I have to show up and take the test (in case you didn’t know math is my “kryptonite” in real life).

-For those of you who don’t use Pandora Internet Radio in your office/home/whatever you need to start doing so immediately. I have used it for a while in my office but only yesterday discovered that they have an application for Blackberry that enables my using it on my phone. That coupled with our unlimited data plan means I’ve always got decent tunes nearby.

-I have a post on men’s clothing and fashion coming very soon (in the next 3 days) and think what you will about it, but it’s been something on my mind and a topic in our household as of late.

-I did go see Transformers 2 the other night and contrary to the critics I really liked it. My two main thoughts are 1) as LL said “this ain’t Citizen Kane, let’s take it for what it is”, its a movie about giant robot aliens that can disguise themselves as GM vehicles (you’d think it might be the other way around given the current state of GM) and fight one another all over the place…it’s a popcorn movie no questions about it. 2) it was too long, my single biggest critique of the movie is that they did in 2.5 hours what they could have effectively done in 1:45. But who am I kidding this is Michael Bay, I’m pretty sure he didn’t even cut the markers when he edited this bad boy together. Sometimes critics need to just get over themselves and watch a movie for what it is…big and loud!

-Hey look at that Al Franken got his seat and it only took 8 months to award it to him.

-Lily and Harper are both starting to move QUICKLY into the crawling phase of their lives. Lily has mastered the “commando crawl” and Harper is not far behind. I am going to get some footage up for you hopefully tonight so you can check it out.

Actions

Information

6 responses

30 06 2009
valeria2431

Hey, how am I supposed to know what things are hurting America anymore?

30 06 2009
papilio588

I don’t know, I bet I have you beat on the dentist. Message me and we’ll war our embarassing war in private 🙂

30 06 2009
Mary

Yay Al Franken. Boo cavities.

Also I plan to check out that h&l crawling madness in person within the week!!! I can’t wait.

That is all.

30 06 2009
jason

For the record …I love the dentist but very much understand your fears. Remember I am DEATHLY afraid of the doctors office and hospitals .

1 07 2009
The Bean

until last March it had been 5 years since my last dentist visit

1 07 2009
Lane

Dentist’s are hurting America.

Leave a Reply

