Some Thoughts on Road Trips

7 03 2009

greatroadsceneallpostersejpg

I had a quick over night roady to Nashville yesterday and today and as I drove back and forth I had some time to ponder road trips and these are some of the random meaningless thoughts that I had (in bullet point form for those of you that can’t get enough).

-First and foremost, I LOVE ROADTRIPS!! I love to drive and if it is a drivable destination I am up for it. Call it the romance of the open road, call it freedom, call it seeing the world, whatever you want to call it I DIG IT!

-I don’t smoke, never have really, although I do love a good cigar from time to time. I have never been a real cigarette kind of smoker, but if I were I think it would be on road trips. I can’t even begin to explain the logic behind it but something about being on the open road makes me want to buy a pack of Camels, roll the windows down, and smoke. I will add, as a side note, I would NOT repeat NOT throw my butts out the window. When did throwing cigarette butts out the window become ‘not littering’?

-Talk radio on a road trip is part of what life is all about. I listen to talk radio a good 80% of the time I am in the car (around town or on the long haul) and I love it. NPR, Tony Kornheiser, the occasional national sports show (local sports radio can suck it), it’s all good (except for local sports radio…seriously they can suck it…and Rick and Bubba too).

-While talk radio is great, you also cannot beat cranking up some of your favorite tunes and putting on the concert of your life at the top of your lungs as the truck drivers you pass look at you with looks of bewilderment (that and disappointment that you didn’t “put ’em on the glass”).

-Speaking of music. As I was driving home today I was spending some time with my old friend Dave. I have long been a fan of Mr. Matthews ever since a certain Mr. H that will remain nameless introduced him to me many moons ago. Two Step has pretty much always been the song that tops my DMB list and I would like to say definitively here and right now that the original DMB: Live at Red Rocks CD (circa 1995) version of Two Step is to this day the best one out there. Actually that entire CD holds up very well over the last 13 years but Two Step on that CD is where its at. If you have access and are a fan I encourage you to go back and give it a second go. I think you’ll be glad you did.

-Another great aspect of a “roady” is that when you are on the road CALORIES DON’T COUNT (it’s like a morally acceptable version of the “cheating outside of your area code” concept) and that is a good thing because you might want greasy spoon regional fare or you might want a double quarter pounder with cheese super sized with an apple pie. Whatever your craving…go for it. This also goes for gas station junk food and snacks…I’m not saying we can all do Funyuns and YooHoo at 8:00 in the morning but on the open road it’s all good.

-I remain ever vigilant in my quest to curb driving/emailing/texting and this drive the last two days just reinforced that decision. It wasn’t easy but with stops for gas and food it wasn’t that big of a deal. Passing all the other dingbats that were swerving around the road as they did that just shows there should be some laws or restrictions or something.

-Sometime before I die I want to do the traditional “drive someplace ridiculously far away like California” with a couple of guys where you do the whole drive all night/switch out/stop at weird random places (like “the most photographed barn in america”) because they are there.

I guess that is all for now. Seriously I do love the open road, and I enjoyed being out with The Governor (my truck) and Margaret Thatcher (the GPS). Mr. L had a blog recently about names of belongings and after reading it those were the nombres that I selected for those particular items.

What are you thoughts on road trips?

**Editors Note: To all of my dear dear friends that live in Nashville I am sorry I did not call you this trip it was such a short turn around and my schedule at my meeting really didn’t leave me with any time. I am, however, going to be back in couple of weeks for 3-4 days and would very much like to catch up with ALL of you whilst there.

Actions

Information

7 responses

7 03 2009
jason

I think we should for real take that random road trip with the guys sometime….drive all night and day …stopping here and there ..
Always been a dream of mine too …..
Grand Canyon would be a great idea…
Whos in >?

8 03 2009
Liz

That for me is the hardest part about not having a car. I LOVE road trips! Love them. In June, it appears as though I’ll be making one of those “traditional drive someplace ridiciously far away like California” trips…only I’ll be driving to Seattle (via Kentucky). I’ll let you know how that goes. 🙂

10 03 2009
Bean

I think our love of Road trips comes from our father. Mr. Bean and I too love road trips. STL to San Antonio last year was fun but I must say, Oklahoma if quite boring. And expensive!

11 03 2009
brian

my homey jmac can ALWAYS kick the funyuns and yohoo at 8am!

13 03 2009
Luke

i’m in!

13 03 2009
Bean

Time for an update, like say maybe about american idol??????

16 03 2009
M'elle

I told my husband the other day we needed to pack up the tent and the dogs and head for the “Biggest Ball of Twine” and things like that… I think it is springtime that makes us restless and ready for adventure.

Leave a Reply

