This Has Got to Stop!!

21 02 2009

600-talk

Alright, I am first going to start this post by admitting that I was once part of the problem. I’m not going to make excuses or try to give myself a higher ground I am just saying I was as guilty as the next person. I am talking about texting and driving. It has GOT TO STOP!

I spent Thursday and Friday on the road for work. I made a drive down to Gulf Shores for a meeting on Thursday, spent the night and then headed over to Fairhope on Friday for another meeting before heading home. I probably logged somewhere in the neighborhood of 500 miles that trip. The reason for pointing out how much driving I did is simply to show that I passed a lot of other drivers while I was on the road. Quite literally every driver that I passed on the road that was having any kind of driving issues (swerving out of their lane, going significantly below the speed limit, attempting to change lanes into myself or another vehicle, etc…) had their noses buried in their cell phones clearly not looking at the road. I had to resist the urge, several times, to honk my horn as I passed. I chose not to for fear they might rip their vehicle right off the road in a panic move. I am sure you all see this when you are out for your daily commutes also. It really is becoming a big problem.

Here’s where I come down on this. I feel like talking on the phone (actually using it as a telephone) is still marginally acceptable as it does not typically require one to take their eyes off the road. But texting, emailing, IM’ing (all these great things that technology has put in the palms of our hands) have got to be put on the shelf until you reach a stop. 

I am committing right now before all of you, my adoring readers, that I am no longer going to be a text/email driver. If a message comes in it can wait until I stop. There is no piece of email (personal or work related) nor text message that can’t wait until I am no longer piloting a 1000-2000 pound vehicle down the road at speeds anywhere from 25 to 75 miles per hour. This goes as much for neighborhoods as it does for the interstate (or anything in between for that matter). One errant child that strays out into the street on a bike, foot, or otherwise in front of a self-absorbed texting driver and just like that tragedy strikes. I don’t want to be a part of that and more importantly I don’t want that to be one of my children one day. 

So I say it here and now. I am done with text/email while driving. If you need me and you know I’m driving give me a ring. If you send me a message and don’t hear back right away don’t worry you will when I come to a stop somewhere. Will you join me in this pledge?

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 02 2009
jason

Funny that you should post about this …..In the last 24hrs I have had two conversations with two different people about this very subject.
Getting a law passed in the legislature might help curb things but really folks will just keep on texting…
I am as guilty as you about texting while driving and really when you think about it ….its crazy to do it.
So…I say Bravo for the post and Bravo for kicking this bad habit…
I am in!!

21 02 2009
Eleanor

I’m not even coordinated enough to text when I’m sittin’ on my sofa — and I’m too cheap to pay the “per text” usage thing, to boot.

So, yep — I’m in!

I like easy vows.

21 02 2009
Mary

I like easy vows too.

We don’t even own a car and I’m not even sure my old Alabama license still counts up here now that it’s been so long – even if I HAD access to a car.

Let’s do it!

23 02 2009
Bean

I’m in!

24 02 2009
Liz

Well, I don’t have a car either, but I’m in for whenever I am driving in the future!! I got a bluetooth for Christmas this year, and after all that ridiculous driving I did over break, I was SO thankful to have it! Hands-free talking is really the way to go! And its freed me up at home as well. I can do dishes or fold laundry while talking to Kris without getting a crick in my neck. I’d highly recommend you get one since you do so much driving! Thanks for bringing up this important issue!!!

Leave a Reply

