Morning in America

5 11 2008

images

Without question we stayed up late last night to enjoy the celebration as President-Elect Obama made his speech and as other news came across the wires. So after going to bed at 1 a.m. and then getting up this morning at 5 a.m. to feed Harper and Lily I was decidedly tired. The following is the awesome conversation that took place between Mrs. M and myself.

Me (as I lay in bed summoning the strength to get up): I am so tired

Her (in the bathroom finishing up getting ready for work): Me too, love

Me: You know what I think is a great idea? Tonight when the girls go to bed at 5:30 p.m. we should do the same.

Her: That’s a good idea. You know what else you could do?

Me: What’s that?

Her: Every time, today, that you think about being tired you can tell yourself you aren’t. Oh yeah, and you can tell yourself that Barack Obama is President, BECAUSE HE IS!

 

One of the many reasons I love her is for brilliant insight like that. Good morning America, you look a little more “Hopey” than when I saw you at this time yesterday! 🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 11 2008
jason

Last night was AMAZING ….FUN… EXCITING and I could not think of a better group to witness history with than my best friends !!
It’s Dawn in America Again !!!
and yeah thats a Reagan quote !!

6 11 2008
Mary

We are all a little Hopey today indeed.

Is Mrs. M back at work ALREADY? Seriously, we barely made it staying up to 1am eastern and we don’t have twins to feed OR jobs. You are both truly dedicated.

6 11 2008
Bean

While I am much less thrilled about this outcome than you, I guess I will just have to wait and see when next spring brings before making to much judgement. I am not too sore a loser though, so Congrats to you who voted for him.

7 11 2008
Laurel

“Hopey” made me chuckle — i dig it.

Leave a Reply

