Mexican Chicken Challenge

13 07 2008

Recently I shared with Mr. H a recipe that I have been cooking for a couple of years. The reason for sharing was that Mr. H has been developing his inner (and really I guess outer also) chef by experimenting with different dishes. In this post Mr. H wrote about his experience cooking my dish, which he has now named “New Papi’s Hat Dance in Your Mouth Chicken.” He was even nice enough to post a picture. As I was reading the post out loud to Mrs. M she walked by to look at the picture and remarked “that looks way better than yours”. So now the gauntlet has been thrown down. I am now issuing to all of you the “Mexican Chicken Challenge” I am posting below the recipe for “New Papi’s Hat Dance in Your Mouth Chicken.” I would like for each of you to prepare it and add your own little twist/spin/take/what-have-you and then post a picture and your own personal review. The winners will be determined in no apparent fashion and will probably receive a fabulous amount of nothing for a prize. Sure sounds fun, doesn’t it? The loser will be asked to ‘please pack their knives and go’. You have one week (deadline is 7/20/08) your time starts now…

“New Papi’s Hat Dance in Your Mouth Chicken.”

Ingredients:
2-3 boneless skinless chicken breasts (or as much as feeds your family unit)
1 pkg. taco seasoning
1 jar of salsa (your choice-I usually go with inexpensive as it is for baking)
sliced pepperjack cheese (or other cheese of your choice)
Lime
Yellow Saffron Rice

Steps:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees
-mix taco seasoning mix according to directions on package and marinate chicken breasts for 20-30 minutes (i usually poke them with a fork to create holes for seasoning to absorb a little
-after marinating place chicken breasts in baking dish and cover completely with salsa
-bake in 350 oven for 30-45 minutes (until chicken is cooked thoroughly)
-during the last 5 minutes place a slice of pepperjack cheese on each breast (the chicken’s not yours sicko)
-serve over prepared yellow saffron rice
-garnish with Lime wedge (lime wedge squeezed over the finished product gives it a light flavor and takes a little bit of the kick out of the salsa and pepperjack)

other additions/variations:

-sour cream is a great addition to this dish

-use the salsa that the chicken baked in as a sauce for plating or dipping

-black beans are another side that goes well with the rice

Actions

Information

11 responses

14 07 2008
jason

We can add to the recipe ?? Cause we all know I LOVE ME SOME MSG in my meals !!!

14 07 2008
jmac

deadline for submission?

14 07 2008
Nick M

Next Sunday the 20th. We, the judging committee, will give you a week.

14 07 2008
Valerie

I like how our deadline is 7/20/0 :cool smiley:
Nice.

I’m in.

14 07 2008
jason

I am in also …..

14 07 2008
Bean

Mine will be prepared soon…

15 07 2008
papilio588

sweet. my aunt just sent me a care package with some taco seasoning in it (no kidding) so i’m in!!

16 07 2008
Valerie

So, what are our criteria for the Mexican Chicken Challenge? I for one, would like to know what I’ll be judged on. Also, can we do variations? Like if I wanted to do tofu (I probably won’t, but what if I did?)? Please post.

17 07 2008
Nick M.

Varlow: The criteria for the challenge mostly revolve around the fact that I am not going to be able to try any of your dishes. Sure you could cheat and just make something that looks good but tastes like dump or you could play fair and see what happens. You will most certainly be judged on things like: being from an overly aggressive state (seriously don’t mess with it), your choice in MLB teams, and being really short. That is what you were asking right? Variations are fine, if you want to lose (no seriously, try me). Be creative why not.

19 07 2008
Its Dinner time somewhere… « Walk with Me

[…] time somewhere… So, I decided it would be fun the participate in Nick’s “Mexican Chicken Challenge.” For those of you who know me, you know one thing: I don’t cook.  No, let me rephrase […]

20 07 2008
Mexican Chicken Challenge: NPWWC Throwdown « The Conservatory

[…] in Uncategorized at 2:17 am by valeria2431 So, I have completed my New Papi’s Whatever Whatever Chicken Challenge, and posted the results below. The only person that has tried it so far is Mr. ND, who could very […]

Leave a Reply

