What A Week It Has Been

29 06 2008

I have been resting on the laurels of my previous post (I mean come on, what could I possibly have written that would have been more interesting than a video of beautiful baby girls? Nothing, exactly!) but now I am back to write about other things.

I have been off work for the last week as I am transitioning from my old job to my new one. New work stuff starts tomorrow and I am very excited about it. I have enjoyed being off this week. I have gotten to spend lots of time with Mrs. M and the babies which is a vacation in itself. Speaking of the girls…as of last night Lily was 3 lbs. 10 oz. and Harper is 3 lbs. 8 oz. and this morning Lily took her very FIRST feeding from a bottle (like a big girl) and she successfully drank 20 of 27 cc’s on her own and then took the last 7 through her feeding tube. They really are growing at an amazing rate (see the pic above) and we are SO READY for the day when they get to come live at home with us.

Last Saturday I was honored to be present for Silas’ Welcome to the World Party. Not only did I get to be there when Silas was wheeled down to the nursery but I also got to spend some time with my man Asher and it was lots of fun.

This summer is the first summer in 15 years that I have not gone on a mission trip of some sort (some summers I went on more than one). It is a strange and a little bit empty feeling because I love mission work (particularly construction projects) so much that to not get the opportunity to do that is very different for me. I know for sure that I will do much more mission work in the future, but this summer I got to have babies, spend time with my wife, and get a new job instead. Not a bad trade if you ask me!

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 06 2008
erma

Nick–the girls are so precious-I know they will be home soon.

30 06 2008
LMilky

Not a bad trade at all!!!

1 07 2008
Stephanie

So glad you made it to Silas’ Welcome to the World Party. I’m not sure what we would have done without you.

1 07 2008
Liz

I’m so jealous you got to go to Silas’ party but glad you could be there 🙂 And, sweet baby girls as a trade off for a mission trip – a hard call, but then again, looking at that picture above, not really. And who knows, in a few years, you might have Lily and Harper alongside of you on a mission trip!!!

3 07 2008
-jackie-

Hope the first week is going well!

Leave a Reply

