Harper Lily Day #4

20 05 2008

Editors Note: I changed my theme again (not, surprisingly this time, due to my need to change every 6 months or so) because my pictures and some of my posts were not working right with the other.

(Easy Like Sunday Afternoon)

Hey everyone. I hope this post finds all of you doing well and having a great start to the week. After a quick snooze yesterday afternoon I am back to blog on the latest. Things here are going SO well I just can’t say enough how great God is and how much he is blessing us (thank you to all of you who have been praying…keep it up). Laura came home from the hospital yesterday and is doing very well. I am making sure that she isn’t trying to do too much and that she is still resting because she needs to be up to full speed when the girls get home because they will keep both of our hands full. Speaking of those beautiful girls…

…Harper and Lily have now been with us for four full days and it has been nothing but positives from the very beginning. Laura remarked tonight at the NICU, while talking to the nurses, that we have yet to get a bad report. Everything is going so well. Now we know and have heard from many people that this journey with premature babies can often be a “two steps forward, one step back” kind of proposition but we are okay with that. Harper was started on clear liquids today (2 cc’s every 6 hours) if that agrees with her they will go to every 3 hours and continue to work their way towards giving her breast milk that will benefit her growth so very much. Lily is not quite ready for the clear liquids but is well on her way. Both girls are breathing strictly room air and have not had any problems with that. Both girls have spent a little bit of time under the phototherapy light for jaundice but that is nothing new for babies, so really they are just spending mommy and daddy’s money to work on their tan. Hopefully in a few more days we will get a chance to hold those sweet girls.

Here are some more pictures from tonight and a little better shot of what they look like (as they continually remove some of the stuff that blocks our view of their faces)

Harper

 

Lily

Actions

Information

8 responses

20 05 2008
LMilky

I am so in love 🙂

20 05 2008
jason

Beautiful !! Miracles working all around us….

20 05 2008
Eleanor

They are just so beautiful, Nick!

20 05 2008
Mary Tyler

I’m telling you, Harper looks more like Nick EVERYDAY! This is just so amazing. As Mrs. M quoted on my wedding video, “Take it all in, take it all in!”

20 05 2008
Heather

Theya re so tiny! YOU’RE A DADDY!! NICK! YOU’RE A DADDY!!! Maybe I can hug you and Laura this weekend.

20 05 2008
erma

Harper really looks like Nick! They are both so blessed to have such sweet parents. Y’all keep up the good work.

20 05 2008
Allison

Oh my goodness your girls are precious!

They are going to be just fine…especially if they are already breathing room air and are getting ready for breastmilk! Girls are fighters, don’t ya know?

Did you guys know that I was born premature at 28 weeks? And I was off oxygen pretty soon and mom pumped breastmilk for me, and I’d have to say I turned out alright– though I wasn’t out of the hospital until I was four months old. Be prepared to use those tiny little preemie clothes for a while. They didn’t have those in 1980 and my grandmothers had to knit stuff specially for me.

My prayers go out to all of you, especially Mama. I’ve recovered from a c-section and it was pretty rough– I can’t imagine it with twins. When they say take it easy for about 6 weeks, they mean it! Take care of all your girls, ya hear? 🙂

20 05 2008
LMilky

WOW Allison ANOTHER success story! I LOVE hearing all about different people’s experiences. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

