The Name Game

24 03 2008

eb980748_hello-my-name-is-badge-3-1-2-x2-1-4-red.gif

So we are having twin girls. Unless you’ve been on the moon for the last 5 days you know that already. Big time exciting stuff for us here at the ‘Casa de M’! Of course the next logical step for us (besides buying an extension ladder for them to use when they get ready to elope when they are 40 years old) is the selecting of names. Now this is a big deal kind of situation because you are giving them the names that will be with them the rest of their lives (or at least until they are 16 and can change it for themselves. For us there is also the added feeling of already being ‘behind in the count’ if you will because need names that work well with our last name (not the easiest of tasks). The good news is after much thought and a little team deliberation, Mrs M. and I have come up with the names we want to use. Now of course the birth certificates are not signed yet or anything but these names are the ones we are at peace with and are planning to use. I will tell you the names and then I will tell you what I believe to be quite the story that makes them seem that much more natural. Without further ado the names are:

Lily Martin M-Lily is a name that I have liked since we started considering baby names, and Martin is my grandmother’s maiden name-she will go by Lily.
and

Harper Elizabeth M-Harper is a name that Mrs. M. has liked since we started the baby name game, and Elizabeth was her middle name as well as 5 other generations of her family-she will go by Harper.

Now for what I call the “WOW” part.

As most all of you know, Mrs M. and I got tattoos two years ago. We both got something that we like and felt very strongly about (which works out well because these aren’t the wash off kind). Mrs. M’s tattoo is that of the fleur de lis (you can see hers below):

pa010053.jpg

The fleur de lis is of course the French stylized design of the lily flower. Mrs. M got it because 1) she liked the look of it, 2) she read some symbolic stories pertaining to both Eve and Mary Magdalene and their connection to the lily, and 3) she really hopes that someday soon the Saints will make it to the Super Bowl (okay the last one was SO not true). But the irony when she got the tattoo is that 2 years ago when she got it neither of us had ever even considered that we might end up naming one of our children Lily. I should also add that the selection of the name Lily had nothing to do with Mrs. M’s tattoo in fact we really didn’t even think about it until after the fact.

My tattoo is that of the ‘Lion Rampant’. Most notably seen on the Scottish flag, the lion rampant is a lion that is reared on its hind feeet with its front paws out in an almost boxer like pose (as seen below):

pa010052.jpg

My reasons for wanting the lion rampant tattoo were 1) being half Scottish in heritage, 2) I have always liked the God/Lion symbolism and wanted a symbol of God watching over my back, and 3) I have always liked a nice cold Löwenbräu (okay again the third one was not really a factor).

So here’s where the story gets crazier. This afternoon I was online and decided to do a Google image search on the name Harper just to see what would come up (and also in consideration of future tattoos pertaining to my children). Low and behold what was one of the first things to come up but this

harper_coat_of_arms2-542x513.jpg

The family crest of the Harper family has none other than a LION RAMPANT square in the middle of it. Again when I got this tattoo 2 years ago I never once even considered that I might have a child named Harper and yet look how wonderfully things turned out.

So in summation Mrs M and I both have a tattoo that has a direct correlation to the names of our soon to be born children and at the time we got them there was no possible connection, and in the naming process the tattoos were again not a factor. How’s that for self-fulfilling prophecy?

Actions

Information

11 responses

24 03 2008
papilio588

Wow!! That is so cool!!!! And I LOVE the names. I have always loved the name Lily, and of course, I’m a little fond of the name Elizabeth. 🙂 Lily and Harper – VERY cute! And so neat about the symbolism/connection to the tattoos!! How awesome. I’m glad you all have names – now I can start praying for them by name. 🙂

24 03 2008
luke

this is very LOST-ian in its outcome.

i sense Benjamin Linus is somehow involved. or Charles Widmore. perhaps even Jacob.

but definitely not Vincent.

24 03 2008
Stephanie

The tattoo story is impressively cool. And I love – LOVE – the girl names. Will you call them Lily and Harper?

24 03 2008
jason

FANTASTIC !!

24 03 2008
Lane

Those are good names. Very gender specific. There shouldn’t be much confusion later on in life.

25 03 2008
Heather

*shivers* I LOVE when God does these things. It makes me want to dance and shout the Psalms. You are Glorious God! Great is Your name in all the earth!

25 03 2008
Luke's Mom

Very, very cool, Nick and Laura.

I just get so teary thinking about y’all being parents! Lily and Harper are very lucky.

If I had gotten a tattoo before I had my children, I hate to think what we’d have called the firstborn. I’ve always wanted an Ichthus. “Ichthus Lucas.” Has quite the ring to it, doesn’t it?

25 03 2008
Mary Tyler

I just got chills reading this. GREAT POST! I love Lily and Harper already! I’ve been calling them Babies Mielke so now I can call them by name…Blessings

30 03 2008
Books, Work and Fasting : Madame Rubies

[…] Nick and Laura are having twins.  Girls.  Nick was the best man in our wedding.  Laura is his lovely bride.  If you want to hear a neat story of symbolism and God, check out Nick’s entry on the names they have chosen for their new daughters: The Name Game. […]

2 04 2008
baby boy

I love the name Lily Martin.

23 09 2010
JB

The Saints DID win the Superbowl!! Now how ya like THAT, huh!! >;-)

Too bad you weren’t wishing for it! Bwahahaha….

Leave a Reply

