Fun on the Delta

18 03 2008

I’ve clearly been out of pocket for the last few days and I have to say I’m not sorry about that. We spent the better portion of Mrs. M’s spring break in Memphis, TN staying with her sister and enjoying the area. Below are some pics and commentary from our trip. Enjoy!

p3130222.jpg

Above is Mrs. M and me and the two future M’s (M&M’s if you will) at the entrance to Beale Street

p3130223.jpg
Mr. J and me trying on hats at A. Schwab on Beale Street (I may have a scalp disease now).
p3130238.jpg
p3130253.jpg
Sun Studio (a.k.a. Memphis Recording Service)…the birthplace of Rock and Roll
p3140257.jpg
p3140268.jpg
They had a full scale replica of the Oval Office. If I could have sat behind The Resolute Desk I might have floated from Little Rock back to Memphis on a cloud of my own joy!
p3140279.jpg
The obligatory self-portrait…it’s ‘how we roll’.
and finally…
n507721795_761994_999.jpg
The hamburger above is from a little place on Beale Street called Dyer’s. If you have not heard of Dyer’s you are missing out on one of the great experiences of life. Full credit (on the behalf of full disclosure) goes to Malerie P. Varlowe for turning us onto this little gem. Dyer’s makes hamburgers, obviously, but here’s the thing…they are deep fried in grease (wait wait…it gets better). The grease that they are fried in is the same grease that they have been using since 1912. For those of you that need a frame of reference that is the same year that the Titanic Sank. Now in their defense they strain the grease every night and add back to its level so the chances that any 1912 is still left in there is slim but the point is they have never thrown it out and started over. Oh yeah, and the burger…THE MOST AMAZING THING I HAVE EVER EATEN!! I’m sure it took 10 years off my life but it was worth EVERY BITE!! (Watch this video if you dare)

Some other highlights from the trip:
Eating at Bosco’s (actually the eating was not the best part of this enjoying the microbrews that they create onsite was the best part)
Going to The Flying Saucer. We went to the one in Memphis and also the one in Little Rock. I believe that if Dyer’s and The Flying Saucer were next door to one another I might have to move in.
Enjoying a Jack Daniels Single Barrel at the bar in the Peabody Hotel

(so my ‘other things’ category included all things that revolve around adult beverages but what can I say it was fun and a good time was had by all).

That’s it for now!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

