The State of My Union

30 01 2008

It seems that my infrequent posts are starting to wear on some of my more loyal readers so I am back to give you all what you are craving…MORE ME!!

twins-1-17-08.jpg

 First of all let me start off by thanking those who made my ‘union’ possible namely two people God, and the stunningly radiant Mrs. M to whom I am united. We are doing very well and at this point almost to 13 full weeks pregnant and healthy. Life is going well we are working on rearranging rooms and painting and all the fun that comes with a great change like this. A couple of amusing anecdotes that I’ve heard from people about having twins:-“In one fell swoop you’ve gone from playing zone defense to man to man”-“Having twins is like buying in bulk: two kids for the price of one hospital visit”-“I can’t believe you might beat B & S to two kids” (on the possibility that Laura could very well give birth before Mrs. G)

images-1.jpeg

Into the Wild: The story of Christopher J. McCandless a.k.a. “Alexander Supertramp” is a very powerful book about the story of a young man disenfranchised with the life of privilege that he gives up to find himself in the Alaskan wilderness. I read the book and really enjoyed it. Last Thursday we went to The Capri (which remains a great place to catch some arthouse culture) to watch Sean Penn’s screen version of the book. It was AMAZING. I really believe it might be one of the best adaptations of a book to film that I have ever seen. The power and quality of the actors performances is something I am still amazed by. Emile Hirsch, Hal Holbrook, William Hurt, Catherine Keener, and so many more made this movie truly something that was moving to watch. The interactions between the characters on screen were so natural that it was hard to not think at times you were peering into someone’s real life. True ‘reality tv’. Emile Hirsch’s performance was heartfelt and gritty, seeing him at the end as he has transformed physically (he lost something like 65 pounds for the role) made the end of the movie all the more real. I could go on and on but I won’t. All I can say is first read the book and second see the movie (probably on DVD soon). It is truly worth your time.

state_of_the_union.jpg

The State of the Union (the real one): I watched the other night and then I watched the Democratic response and then I saw Senator’s Obama and Clinton’s responses, and all I can say is that I’m not going to disparage the President, but I will be glad to see a change. I could go on and on about the things that bother me about the current administration but a new day is on the horizon and I am alright with letting the sun set on the old one so long as it happens without too much damage to the future of our country.

images.jpeg

 My Candidate: Whether it matters to any of you or not I have decided that I am going to support Senator Barack Obama in his bid for the Presidency of the United States of America. I have like Senator Obama very much ever since  I heard his keynote address at the convention in 2004. I like his vision, I support his desire for change, and I like that he is motivating the younger generations of voters to be active in the process. There are many of you who are not sure about the Senator and I would be glad to answer or address any questions you might have about his personal narrative or his political stances (just email me). I would like to point out to any of you who were confused he is NOT a Muslim. He has no problem with those of the Muslim faith it is just not his. A time for change really has come and I believe that Barack Obama is the catalyst to fuel that change! Super Tuesday is less than a week away, if you live in a primary state make sure you get out and vote.I guess that is all I have for right now. Hope you are all doing well and having a great week.

Actions

Information

9 responses

30 01 2008
luke

GObama!

now we gotta work on jason.

and don’t forget about the ‘Into The Wild’ soundtrack. no matter one’s feelings about Mr. Vedder’s politics, his work on that soundtrack is outstanding. Haunting, moving, inspirational… all at once.

30 01 2008
Jason

I think yall can work on ya selves !! HILLARY08
I would ask Luke for a copy of the ‘Into the Wild” soundtrack but ….He has a hard time getting me copies of ANYTHING.
Good post

30 01 2008
Bean

Well it’s about time! Thanks for the update. Now if you could just get your “stunningly radiant Mrs. M.” to do the same I would be completely satisfied. 🙂

On the political front, let me just say that it is a fact that anything bad for the economy is due to the acts of the previous 4 year administration (which yes I know that would be Bush which is part of the reason so many of you have problems with him) but all the same, anything good for the economy is also due to the acts of the previous 4 year administration (again, Bush). Just keep that in mind in the coming years when the economy turns around and certain things start to leak out. The media always credits it to the current administration when in fact it was the previous admin.’s actions just taking their due course to reveal themselves. I have a specific example but sadly I cannot share it here due to the nature of Mr. Bean’s job. I would be happy to explain it to anyone curious if they email or call me.

All that said, GO MCCAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

31 01 2008
Stephanie

Hi Nick,

If she beats me, she definitely wins. =)

I’m anxious to see you guys again and to hear how Laura’s pregnancy is going.

And – you can definitely say about Obama that you saw him first. I’ll back you up on that, because I first heard of him from you.

31 01 2008
pkake2000

very good blog!!!

You see video and download video here!!!

http://www.perfectvideoblog.com

31 01 2008
Linda

I think baby A and baby B are adorable. But, which one should I hold first? I can hardly wait to see them.

I liked your imput on Obama, So far, I like him a lot.

1 02 2008
Valerie

I think Baby B looks more like you than Baby A for sure. There’s an obvious resemblance.

Also, I would like to see more candidate endorsements done in the way you did yours. “Whether it matters to any of you or not, I have decided to endorse Barack Obama for President.” And that would be it- no long boring speeches reciting things we already know, just short and to the point. I think that would be great.

2 02 2008
Yes We Can… « Memoirs From The Library

[…] I’m not going to go in depth because this topic has been well covered in our blog circle of friends. And besides that, most of you are well aware but I thought I should make the official obligatory […]

4 02 2008
Mary

Are you going to continue to post updated sonogram photos? Because that would be awesome. I disagree with val, I think baby A & B both look more like Ms. Muffin. Its so obvious.

I’m glad you are getting out the Bama Obama vote! We are going to go see him tomorrow night with Senator Kennedy, Senator Kerry, and our Governor too!! It’s going to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

