So Here’s the Thing…

5 01 2008

…it has been one heck of a roller coaster of an end of the year/beginning of the new year. A lot of you know that L and I found out at the beginning of December that we are expecting our first child (for those of you that I didn’t get to tell before now I apologize there are just a lot of you out there), and we could not be more excited. I mean I’m going to be a father and that has to be the most amazing blessing that I could ever be a part of. I am scared and excited and more…

Fast forward to today (Thursday January 4rd) and it is time for L’s first ultrasound. Being extremely busy at work today (Winter Retreat is next weekend and I have been on vacation for the last 8 days) L called and said “I’m sure this appointment will not be a really big deal and if you don’t think you can make it I will be fine going by myself.” I definitely did not want to miss out on this so I ditched out on work and headed to the doc’s office to meet her. We go back to the room and meet ‘Dana’ our Ultrasound tech and L was quickly put at ease to find out that the ultrasound would be through the stomach the old fashioned way (ladies you know about the other options and we won’t go there because this is a family blog). So as Dana sets to work I sat across from L fixated on the screen and when I heard that baby heartbeat for the first time I was basically a puddle in my own shoes. It was the most amazing sound I have EVER heard in my life EVER!! So as L and I both were having an emotional moment seeing the first images of our yet-to-be-born child our friend Dana (as casually as if she was telling us it had just started raining outside) says “there’s two” and at that point Laura chimes in with “Wait! WHAT?” and Dana’s routine reply was “You are having twins.” TWINS!! Do you people understand what I just said? That is two babies at ONE TIME!! Holy SCHNIKES!! I don’t even know what else to say. We went to lunch at Sinclair’s right after the appointment and I had not one but two drinks (ironic isn’t it) because I needed to have my nerves calmed. Wow!! Talk about a start to the new year.Please now take a moment to meet “Baby A & Baby B”:

twins11.jpg

Crazy right? And to think that I might not have gone to that appointment with her I can’t even imagine how I would have felt to have missed that. And I leave you with an amazing quote/exchange from the best TV show in the history of television (The West Wing) .

(so this isn’t an exact quote but if you’ve seen it you know what I am talking about)

Toby tells CJ and Josh and Sam that Andy (his ex-wife) is pregnant with twins and that he is the father and the key part goes like this:

Toby: Andy is pregnant, its twins, and of course I am the father

CJ: Twins?!?

Josh: They’re yours?

Toby: Yeah

Josh: Both of them?

It makes me laugh out loud every time I see that scene. I don’t know why it just does, and it was definitely in my head all day today.

 

 

Actions

Information

16 responses

5 01 2008
Jason

AMAZING WONDERFUL NEWS !!! This is not the first time hearing it but its still AMAZING AND WONDERFUL !! I am so happy and proud for yall……I love yall
and since you mentioned the greatest show ever (WW) let me remind folks what I have been saying for a LONG time….The West Wing can be applied to ANYTHING in life!! Call me a nerd but your talking about Toby having twins….proves it!
Gonna get married ? Dont let Will plan the wedding.
Gonna have a debate without your lucky tie? Dont let your wife near you with anything sharp.
Gonna have twins….well …You get the point West Wingers out there

5 01 2008
madamerubies

Bwahahahahahahahahahaha! The idea of you with twins may be the most amusing image of my life, to date.

CONGRATS!

6 01 2008
aristaeus

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

6 01 2008
valeria2431

Congratulations (and congratulations- see how I did that twice?)!

6 01 2008
liz

Nick Mielke!! I am of course disappointed that I have only JUST NOW heard this news (I’m blaming the grapevine more than you, dont worry) but aside from being the last to know (news travels slow to China and all I guess) CONGRATULATIONS!! Holy cow I cant believe you are going to have TWINS!! I am so excited for you guys!!!!!

6 01 2008
-jackie-

I can’t even begin to say how happy I am for all four of you (five if you count allie)! I know I’ve mentioned this before but my maternal grandmother is a twin. She and her sister will be 87 this year! It is such a special bond and I couldn’t think of two better people to share in it!
I will be working in Montgomery this week and I hope I will be able to come see you guys very soon!

I love you both very much… CONGRATULATIONS!

6 01 2008
Linda

Nick,
I am so happy for you and Laura. I was so shocked when Brian said it was twins. It will be fun, fun, fun. You need to start shopping for a mini van! 🙂
I’m here is you need anything. Give Laura my love.

7 01 2008
Luke's Mom Person

Nick and Laura — WOW and double WOW! I’d heard your news through the grapevine, but hadn’t heard THIS news!

God bless you both — and just think! TWO dependents on your 2007 income taxes!!

Enjoy every single minute of this.

7 01 2008
Luke's Mom Person

Um, that would be your 2008 taxes. I wouldn’t want you in federal prison or anything.

7 01 2008
Bean

Thank you for the update although of course not to brag but being the FIRST to know about the twin thing after being nearly the LAST to know about a baby at all has been quite rewarding on it’s own. I hate to say but it but Auntie Bean has already been shopping. 🙂 It’s so weird to buy in sets of twos!

8 01 2008
Stephanie

I’m so excited for you both.

Based on the ultrasound and my psychic abilities, I predict they are identical.

8 01 2008
-jackie-

Tell your wife to blog for goodness sake!!! sheesh!!

8 01 2008
luke

last to comment! i win!

my ears will ring forever with the excited squeals of the ladies at the apartment when the news was revealed, so thanks for that.

weeeee!

8 01 2008
Jason

I post here because I cant let Luke be last ………and I think if Luke were being honest himself he would admit to being in on the “squeals” with the ladies !!

15 01 2008
Bean

So mine’s last because I WANT A NEW POST!

23 01 2008
Mother of Brother Bean

My turn! WHOOPEEEEEEEEEEEE

and babys make 4!

Leave a Reply

