The Rest of the Catalyst Post

9 10 2007

So I didn’t really get around to posting about days 2 & 3 of the Catalyst Conference, but suffice it to say it was really great. I enjoyed being there and it was something I haven’t had the chance to do since probably 2000 when I went to the National Youth Workers Convention in Atlanta. I am not going to take the time to tell you about all of the things that went on at the conference but I did want to write for just a few minutes about the part that stood out the most to me, and I guess when it comes down to it spoke directly to where I am in my life.

Francis Chan
On Thursday we heard from Francis Chan who is the pastor of Cornerstone Church in Simi Valley, California. If you read about the church on their website you will see that their future building plans include not actually building a building. They are planning to have an outdoor amphitheatre where they will have church because they believe that they can spend their money on much more important things like reaching the poor, and putting others before themselves (weird its almost like that is something Jesus would want us to do). Very fascinating stuff. Here’s where he got me:

(Quoting now from an article he wrote in our Catalyst ‘Notezine’)
“I forget to love God. Its not like I want to. In fact, when I’m deeply in prayer, its clear to me that there is no where else I would rather be. I know that I love God. When I sit and think about him, I’m filled with intense feelings of adoration. I’m convinced that He means more to than my wife, kids, or anyone else on the planet. I just forget to love him.”

THATS ME!! I forget to love God. I get wrapped up in being a husband, working at a church, going to school, and living life and I forget to do it. I do love Him I really really do, but I just don’t always have my priorities in line. I’m not going to continue to elaborate on this point other than to put it out there in the ‘ether-nets’ and let this be my confession.

I will end with one other thing that Francis Chan wrote in his article that I thought was really good.

“If Jesus had a church in Simi Valley, mine would be bigger. People would leave His church to attend mine because I call for an easier commitment. I know better how to cater to people’s desires so they stick around. Jesus was never really good at that. He was the one who said, “He who loves the Mother, Father…son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.” (Matthew 10:37) I am much more popular than Jesus”

Actions

Information

5 responses

9 10 2007
Heather

Ohh… I love that last quote. Wow.

9 10 2007
papilio588

Wow. I love both of those quotes – I will have to read up on him some more. Thanks for sharing, and for being so honest!!

10 10 2007
Jeremy LaDuke

Nick,
I think Chan was probably the most on-target speaker. He said some things that church leaders really needed to hear. But my favorite quote was by far, “What part of the body are you? Are you the appendix? Because you don’t really do anything, and you could explode and kill us.” Anyways, Catalyst was great – but next year they should have some women speakers.

10 10 2007
Jason

I was suprised at the lack of women speakers also ….there was one at the Labs on Wednesday but that was it …

12 10 2007
Bean

I finally posted again. Have fun camping

Leave a Reply

