A Change Will Do You Good

31 08 2007

Sometimes you just need a change. I was ready for another blog theme and this is the one that I went with. I was tired of the dark one that I had. It was time for something a little lighter, plus the picture of the city at the top makes me feel all “metro” (like I’m living Mr. H’s life…minus the “Lord of the Flies” Mrs. H is a terrorist scenario from last week). And while we are talking about my blog I would like to point out that I have FINALLY updated my links so that they are current. If I missed you or it still is not right let me know and I will attempt to fix the problem.

Tonight is a great night. I have waited for this for a good long time. That’s right, the return of College Football. I love football in general but the college game is my favorite over the pros (although don’t be fooled I am going to own someone in our Fantasy League this year). So after spending my requisite time in my Thursday night class (entitled ‘Legal Issues in Healthcare’…sorry Mrs. H that I don’t have a paper topic for you, I am trying to come up with one of my own) I am now at home on the couch enjoying a cold frosy one and watching LSU vs. Mississippi State. Life is good.

Heather wrote a blog today where she posted 13 of her favorite posts and as I clicked on one it led me to another that she had written almost 2 years ago at the time of Laura and my wedding. It was a great post as she discussed being a new member in a close group of friends and what that was like and how we as a group (although we don’t get to see each other near as much as we would like) remain closely knit. I know it can be a hard thing to be ‘new’ in that situation but I first want to say thanks to those that have felt like outsiders (Laura, Heather, etc…) but yet have found their way in anyhow. Similarly I love that this group of friends uses what we have available to us to keep these friendships going (mostly blogs and the occasional Gmail or iChat). I hope, and this is where I simultaneously make my intentions known and try to avoid the fact that I have previously been a hypocrite. Comments. We all love them (Stephanie and Mr. H and Mrs. H all kind of touched on this last week) and want them but a lot of times we don’t give them. I know I personally suck at commenting, and yet I am disappointed when people don’t comment on my blog. Sometimes the motivation we need to keep updating our blogs is the encouraging (or in my case typically ‘smart aleck’) words and comments that tell us “hey I read your thing and I wanted you to know that”. I hereby am going to redouble my efforts to comment on everyone’s blogs because I know I want you to do it to mine (Laura and I have this conversation a lot) and also this is how we keep the long distance friendships going.

Alright this post has become a bit of a ramble so I am going to now go back through and link the appropriate places and then probably have one more cold one before bed. I hope you all have a great night.

Actions

Information

11 responses

31 08 2007
Heather

Glad I could be of service. 😉 Feels so long ago that I was the new member of the group, and yet sometimes I still feel like the outsider. I do love you guys though.

31 08 2007
jason g.

Nice new look for your page …never was a fan of the DARK stuff!!
LSU is gonna be a bastage to beat this year !!! BUT HOORAY FOR FOOTBALL

31 08 2007
maughry

Ya. It’s fine about the topic. I got some great suggestions even outside the blog.
HOWEVER, I love how you go on and on about our tight nit group of friends and HOW CLOSE we are and how we keep up our long distance friendships online, ect… and then I DO NOT EVEN MAKE IT ON YOUR FRIENDS BLOG ROLL! I mean, I know I’ve only been back around for about a week, but I thought I meant more to you than that!
Maybe you should have left more people off to illicit a few more comments of outrage.
Wait, have I just been tricked?

31 08 2007
maughry

that’s better 🙂

31 08 2007
Stephanie

This is me, waving hello.

The problem with commenting (or not) is that sometimes I just don’t have anything to say. One blog I read does a really good job of generating comments – she always ends with a question related to her topic. It works.

Anyway – hi everyone.

3 09 2007
papilio588

Thanks Nick for trying to comment more – I will also try to do the same! It is a vicious cycle. And I like the new look of the site.

3 09 2007
maughry

Wow. I don’t know what to say. I love you. I don’t know why it’s not okay to say that in the comment of a blog post. I love you. I wish I could shout it from the rooftops, but you probably wouldn’t be able to hear me and my neighbors would think I’m talking about them, and I really don’t love them.

4 09 2007
Jackie

I really enjoy reading your blog. It sometimes gives me the warm fuzzies. 🙂
I hope that I can also be better on commenting… even when I don’t have anything clever to say!

8 09 2007
Mary

ok, wow. i do love you nick, but i did not make comment # 7. that was lane. we constantly have this problem.

10 09 2007
Jackie

now who needs to update?

10 09 2007
Jackie

p.s. i didn’t make the link list? 😦

Leave a Reply

