Ahhh Summer…

14 08 2007

…PLEASE GO AWAY! After completing the 8th day in a row of 100+ degree temperatures I am utterly and completely ready for October (where here in Alabama it will probably be a balmy 85 degrees). Enough about the weather complaints, who do I think I am my grandfather?

This past weekend was the official end to the “Youth Group Summer” and I am a little sad to see it go. It has been a good summer filled with all kinds of things like Mission Trips, lunches with youth, Back to School retreat and so much more. It is going to be an exciting year for the Oasis Youth Ministry and I can’t wait to see what the fall brings.

Barry Bonds hit his record breaking 757th home run the other night and I have to say I did watch it in real time. Being a HUGE baseball fan I have to say I watched, like many in the country I am sure, with mix of bittersweet emotions. I was sad to see a record like Hank’s (755) fall to someone with a questionable past and ongoing debate about whether or not he cheated and used steroids. I do take solace in knowing that barring some kind of major injury there are a couple of different players who will almost assuredly blow past Barry’s record in the years to come. It was historical that is for sure and for that reason alone I am glad that I watched, but I will look forward to sharing the next historical breaking of that record some years down the road (maybe even with a little “Nick Jr.” watching along with me).

Classes start back for me in a couple more weeks and I am not yet excited. I have been really enjoying my summer off, but it is now back to the grindstone to continue onward and upward with my pursuits.

And now a quote from the greatest TV show of all time (Jason and Steph can back me up on this one):

“…’Joy cometh in the morning,’ scripture tells us. I hope so. I don’t know if life would be worth living if it didn’t. And I don’t yet know who set off the bomb at Kennison State. I don’t know if it’s one person or ten, and I don’t know what they want. All I know for sure, all I know for certain, is that they weren’t born wanting to do this. There’s evil in the world, there’ll always be, and we can’t do anything about that. But there’s violence in our schools, too much mayhem in our culture, and we can do something about that. There’s not enough character, discipline, and depth in our classrooms; there aren’t enough teachers in our classrooms. There isn’t nearly enough, not nearly enough, not nearly enough money in our classrooms, and we can do something about that. We’re not doing nearly enough, not nearly enough to teach our children well, and we can do better, and we must do better, and we will do better, and we will start this moment today! They weren’t born wanting to do this.”

-President Bartlett (West Wing) 

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 08 2007
Jason

Well….you went and stole my blog idea !!! That’s why I have nothing new to offer so dont be a blog snob !!
Excellant use of the WW quote archive….actually gave me chills to read it ….and I did read it OUTLOUD!!

14 08 2007
Mary

So. You should come visit us next August. Today it is 68 degrees and beautiful out. It’s so nice out that even Mr. H has gone on a walk with berkeley to continue cesarizing her.

Don’t come in February. The weather here blows in february.

15 08 2007
Laura M.

68 degrees in August? wow

16 08 2007
jason

WOW is right ….especially when you consider it was 105 here today !!!

Leave a Reply

