The Long and Winding Blog

23 10 2006

So I haven’t updated lately mostly because I am a lazy blog slug. Last week I had mid-terms both of my classes last week, and that was particularly stressful in my Thursday class because that test was 50% of my grade for the SEMESTER (the other 50% being the Final exam). Those are over with and I will find out tonight and Thursday what I made.

This Friday I am leaving to GO ON VACATION!! I don’t want you to misunderstand me and think I’m not SUPER-PSYCHED (I mean I have to be I’m capitalizing like a mad fiend) because I AM! Early Friday morning (the earlier the better I say) Laura and I are leaving to go to Asheville, NC until Monday. This will be our first real trip since the honeymoon last year and we are both very much looking forward to getting away. We are going to visit the Biltmore, Drink Beer at Barley’s, and whatever else might suit our fancy. It’s going to be FANTASTIC.

And now for the movie review I have been meaning to give you for two weeks now:

departed_poster.jpg

The Deaparted…GO SEE IT IMMEDIATELY!!

The Departed has a fantastic ensemble cast that includes: Jack Nicholson, Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio, Martin Sheen, Alec Baldwin, Mark Wahlberg, and Vera Farmigia (The Manchurian Candidate). This movie is wonderfully sinister and filled with the kind of Scorsese based grittiness you have come to expect. From the cinematography to the great “Bah-stan” accents this movie delivers mob violence at its finest. I urge you to drop what you are doing and see this movie in the theaters RIGHT NOW (even if you do have silly movie rules…I’m talking to you Miller). I don’t want to get into plot points or all of what I thought was so good about it because I don’t want to spoil anything, but if you’ve never taken my advice on anything before this (mostly movies and music)…TRUST me on this one, if you like mob movies, and the people listed above you owe it to yourself to go see it ASAP!!

That’s all I’ve got for now kids. More to come this week before I leave.

